Oscar Snub.

Yesterday the Oscar nominees were announced and once again the Internet cried foul of snubs and this time around for good reason.  Let me preface this by saying that I’m not crying “nerd” wishing X-Men movies would be nominated for Oscars. I’m a rational human being and I understand what the academy appreciates but my god get a fucking clue please.  Just because a movie is science fiction or horror should not discredit it from being nominated for Best Picture.  In 2008 when The Dark Knight was completely snubbed by the academy in the best picture category the preemptive strike to shut up the keyboard warriors (yes, like me) they extended the number of nominees for Best Picture which just makes the blatant snubs all that much more insulting. So that being said the ironic part is it wasn’t a pop corn flick that’s universally loved by audiences that didn’t get nominated, It was an art house tech-noir stylistic and universally (for the most part) loved film called “Drive” getting snubbed for best picture…passed over in favor of Oscar bait and critical failure “Extremely Loud and Incredibly Close”

It’s easy to point out snubs like “Momento” “Pyscho” or The Empire Strikes Back?  They don’t blip on The Oscar’s radar as being dismissed as actioners, horror or sci-fi pop corn. So the exclusion of Drive is just that much more baffling.  I know I can’t actively pick on “Extremely Loud and Incredibly Close” on account that I haven’t seen it due to it looking like a pile of dog shit, but I will anyways.  The first review I saw on Rotten Tomatoes has the headline of “This is the kind of movie you want to punch in the nose” and that was by Tom Long from the Detroit News.  It looks exactly like the type of movie that is made as Oscar-bait except it’s at 48% on Rotten Tomatoes and the consensus is it’s not very good.  So suffice to say Fuck the Oscars.  I don’t want to care but I guess it’s my thirst for justice that good art gets rewarded and lazy contrite oscar-bait gets flushed.  I’d go over the other snubs but really at the end of the day who cares, I just wanted to bitch about Drive for 1,345th time.

~ by ATOM on January 25, 2012.

Leave a Reply

 
