Pop Junk’s 31 Days of Halloween: #11: Honorable Mention.

There’s 31 Days in October but I’m only reviewing 30, so I can use this day to tell you the movie I considered putting on this list between 31-11 but for one reason or another just didn’t make the cut.  Please keep in mind my one rule was anything made before 1960 wasn’t going to make the list…just to put aside the classics and let some other flicks get some glory.  Anyhow, this are some of the flicks I considered for the list.

Nightmare on Elm St. 3 is ALMOST my favorite of the franchise and is just a damn good horror movie.  This flick had some of the most creative kills in this whole series, I just never understood why they have to bury his bones in order to kill Freddy at the end? What’s even weirder is how they bring him back in part 4.  It has to do with a dog pissing fire????

A classic in 80’s horror; Funny and gross…but often goofy.  Just a fun flick.

I love this flick but I think a lot has to do with nostalgia and the fact that it’s fun, but really not a great cinematic achievement.

I my preconceived notion this film was just a crappy sci-fi shitshow, but it really ended up being a pretty horrifying flick.  Not good enough to make the list but I highly recommend checking it out if you’ve never been.

I really though this would be the one people would shit on me for not including.  Well I was just being honest with myself; If I had to watch just one  Friday the 13th flick I would pick part six.  It’s more fun and this one is kind of a bore, classic…don’t get me wrong…but I dunno, it’s ok.

Hellrasier never never really did it for me.  I give props to Clive Barker as a big time player in the horror community and there’s serious gross out moments in this flick, but it just didn’t click as a movie I needed to re-watch.

The look and feel for these movies are awesome and I enjoy the hell outta the hammer flicks….but they’re kinda stupid.

Tim Curry is amazing as Pennywise the Clown and deserves more respect in the horror community.  I’m a huge fan of this movie, I just wished it ended at the two hours mark because the “Loser’s Club” as adults isn’t very interesting.

I didn’t see this flick for the first time til quite recently and I did really enjoy it.  But I have very little passion for it, I guess that’s on me.  This flick would have made the list if my ex-roommate had written the review because it’s one of his favorite movies…but he didn’t…so it didn’t.

The Omen is a really good horror movie but sometimes movies with no levity need to be amazing to have a lot of re-watch value.  Good flick, not a favorite.

I watched this for the first time this month and I wanted to include it because I really enjoyed it a lot more than I thought I would.  I was nervous it would be too much a knee-jerk reaction and decided against it.  If any movie could physically have sex with the holiday of Halloween it would be this flick.  You’ll see what I mean.

After being saturated by crappy sequels, people forget how good this flick was…even if people chuckled at Carey Elways’ performance, the ending was awesome first time around.  Not good enough for the list though.

I enjoyed this film immensely but I just didn’t have the enormous orgasm that most film critics did.  Good solid vampire flick, but let’s relax a little bit.

I loved this movie when I was a kid…and I watched it again recently and it’s still a solid horror flick.  I think mostly due to the fact that the mid 90’s was shit for horror.  Fuck all the haters, I wish I put this on the list.

Ok so there you have it, some love for the movies that didn’t make the list.  Well starting tomorrow is the top 10…Happy October everyone!

~ by ATOM on October 21, 2011.

Leave a Reply

 
