Pop Junk’s 31 Days of Halloween: #12 Shaun of the Dead

I can’t even begin to tell you how much I’ve been beating myself up over this selection.  I’ve had my top 10 done before I started my first review and #11 will be all my honorable mentions that didn’t quite make the list, but I found #12 was the most difficult because I’m horrible at making up my mind and I’m always insecure about certain movies making this list because of one thing or another.  Well the hell with it, I love this flick with a passion but and almost made the top 10 but not quite…I give you 2004’s Shaun of the Dead.

No movie had ever blended blood filled horror and witty borderline hilarious dialog and bits of a romantic comedy and smashed them together so brilliantly until Edgar Wright’s Shaun of the dead.  My first impression of this film was that it’s comedy with zombies in, but I never foresaw how bloody and gory it would be and still maintain a central point about friendship that really took me by surprise. It wasn’t until I saw copycat film “Zombieland” that I truly appreciated what this movie accomplished.

Shaun (Simon Pegg) is a loveable loser everyman with a crap job and very little direction in life. His best friend (Nick Frost) is even more of a loser and a terrible influence, his girlfriend has dumped him and his life is pretty much shit.  In the midst of this the dead are coming back to life and feeding off of the living.  Shaun oblivious to this for the most part (part of the comedy of it) continues on his day until it becomes painfully clear what is happening.  Shaun springs to action hatching a plan of recusing his ex-girlfriend and his mum and whisking them away to his favorite watering hole.

Not only is this movie genuinely funny but some of the jokes are really just geared toward diehard horror movie fans, and not as if they’re pandering but truly fans themselves.  Then there’s the gore which any doubter of this film would give a thumbs up to but ultimatly you have to tip your cap to Edgar Wright and his ability to make a horror comedy that is absolutely character driven with a ton of patients to build on the relationships of the characters.  This movie movie never misses a beat as it bounces from the laughs and character building through the first half of the movie to it’s gory conclusion.

~ by ATOM on October 20, 2011.

Leave a Reply

 
